the hunting party by lucy foley

Book Review: The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

Spread the love

Want to know whether to read The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley? Here’s my full review of The Hunting Party to help you decide.

The Hunting Party Review

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley is great for mystery readers who love the “locked room mystery” genre where you have to deduce using the clues given by the author to whodunnit!

Because I have previously read another book by the author, Lucy Foley, I am a bit in tune with how her mystery would work but again I was stumped as the characters I had thought to be the perpetrator was completely wrong.

I knew right off the bat who was the victim. I am not going to spoil anything here because I want you to have fun figuring out who killed whom and how. It is so much fun!

I enjoyed The Hunting Party far more than I enjoyed The Guest List because I feel like it had more restrain in how much plot twists there were in it. In The Guest List, the amount of plot twists was ridiculous up until it took away my immersion of the book.

Writing wise, Lucy is a good author. I really enjoyed reading The Hunting Party, it kept me hooked on wanting to know more especially since NONE of the characters in this book was remotely likeable.

The ending left me speechless not because it came out of nowhere but because I SHOULD HAVE SEEN IT COMING! The clues were all there! But without the context, I just swept it aside thinking it’s just filler but nay-nay, they were important.

This book did make me think on friendships especially one forged over decades and how some friendships unfortunately do not mature even when the group of friends have matured.

Like, this book in particular, I just find it funny how they revert back to their status quo in the group like its still high school even though all of them have high flying careers.

Anyways, I really recommend you to read this book if you want to get get that inner detective working.

The Hunting Party Synopsis

the hunting party by lucy foley

Title: The Hunting Party

Author: Lucy Foley

Published: January 24tn 2019

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

Rating: 3/5

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

Buy The Hunting Party now

Amazon |

If you liked this post, checkout my other posts:


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.